BeeBee's 365 Challenge

for the little things that make me happy

Day 258: Mustache Mug #1 – A #PinAddicts Post

on September 14, 2012

This is my 1st link up with the #PinAddicts I heard about this group of bloggers at the beginning of September over on Twitter. The premise is to make or do something that you have pinned over on the site @Pinterest.

This is a tentative step into a how to type post so please bare with me…

So I’ve been looking at these moustache covered items for a while, starting with the head on the Pringles tube. So when these little beauties popped up I had to have a go. First I saw this one then I saw this variation on a theme.

Out I went and got a sharpie, found some moustache templates online and dug a plain mug out of my plentiful mug cupboard.

Image

So you start with 1 naked mug, 1 sharpie of whichever colour you prefer and a cut out template (unless you have a very steady hand – which I don’t). I stuck mine down with some sticky tape.

Image

Carefully draw the tache’s outline then fill in.

Image

Remove the stencil, and put in a pre-heated oven (350f, 200c) for 30 mins to fix the design.

At this point the mug looked amazing.

Image

So I thought I would test the dishwasher hardiness of the design.

After all, the sharpie post said it was dishwasher safe. Alas, this bit wasn’t true. So I don’t know whether or not it was due to UK sharpie ingredients or something else, I was rather disappointed at the final result.

Image

This won’t stop me though, I am determined to get this craft right. So now I have some Porcelain Pens on order and will update with a Mustache Mug #’2 in the future.

Today’s Activity: Settling down with some tv and a takeaway.

BeeBee x

4 responses to “Day 258: Mustache Mug #1 – A #PinAddicts Post

  1. Love it! What a great idea. Thanks for linking up. x

  2. Tiff says:

    I LOVE THIS :0D

Leave a Reply

Fast day feasts

What to eat on the 5:2 fast diet

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

robharvey76

Pierce the mundane

International Book Giving Day 2017

Give a book on Valentine's Day

Oh!Bento

Bento pictures, tutorials, reviews and where to buy in the UK!

Life in the fat lane

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Thinsanity

GREASY fries or SKINNY thighs....you choose?

Wendyjr's Life

Just another WordPress.com site

kwjd

A fine WordPress.com site

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Baking as Therapy

Recipes, musings and ideas- plus ' how to' tutorials

Overtime Cook

...because most of us don't have all day to spend in the kitchen!

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

PinAddicts Challenge

Pin It, Make It, Blog It, Link It, Share It!

Princess in the Kitchen

"Never eat more than you can lift" - Miss Piggy

