BeeBee's 365 Challenge

for the little things that make me happy

Day 157: I’m a Work in Progress

on June 5, 2012

I have had a most horrendous result on the scales this morning. In just one week I have managed to wipe out a month of hard work.

I want to lose weight:

1. For me.
2. So I’ll look better.
3. So I can wear nicer clothes.
4. So I can feel more in control.
5. So I will like myself more.
6. To increase my self esteem.
7. So I can eat in front of others without feeling self concious.
8. So I don’t stand out in photos just for being the fat one.
9. So I can wear the clothes I want not just the styles that fit.
10. So my legs will stop aching all the time.
11. So running will be easier and less of a concious effort.
12. And be able to exercise in public without the fear of embarrassment.
13. So I can be less tired.
14. So people (family & strangers) will stop criticising what I wear.

I’ve had a sneaky peek in my diary and there are now 14 weigh ins until my 36th Birthday. I thought that I would have cracked this all by now. That I’d be settled and know what I’m doing.

Instead, I am a married and slightly unstable mother of two. Never in a million years would I have said I would be a writer or that I would have a recipe book that is open for the world to see. Saying that back when I was deciding who I should be, the internet didn’t exist and my support network wasn’t great.

It was expected that I would be great. That I would be sensible. That I would follow in my maternal family’s footsteps of being a well-known part of my hometown where they are so infamous. To be part of the town’s fabric.

As I am, I stand out. I’m tall, I’m large, I have big red hair, a big loud voice. Out and about I have the persona of being that loud/fun person. It’s hard work. At home I’m quiet, most of the time, I crave a certain amount of silence (as much as you can get with 2 young children whose idea of fun is seeing who can scream loudest & highest). I tend not to speak unless I have something I want to say. I’m quite a serious person and don’t take things lightly. I can get competitive over the smallest of things and plan things in my head down to the smallest iota.

What I need to do is feel comfortable enough in my own skin to not have these loud outbursts that scream look at me. And most of all I need to work out why I want to be validated so badly by everyone I meet. Any advice is welcome.

Today’s Activities: Listening to Jillian Michael’s Podcast.

BeeBee x

Leave a Reply

Fast day feasts

What to eat on the 5:2 fast diet

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

robharvey76

Pierce the mundane

International Book Giving Day 2017

Give a book on Valentine's Day

Oh!Bento

Bento pictures, tutorials, reviews and where to buy in the UK!

Life in the fat lane

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Thinsanity

GREASY fries or SKINNY thighs....you choose?

Wendyjr's Life

Just another WordPress.com site

kwjd

A fine WordPress.com site

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Baking as Therapy

Recipes, musings and ideas- plus ' how to' tutorials

Overtime Cook

...because most of us don't have all day to spend in the kitchen!

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

PinAddicts Challenge

Pin It, Make It, Blog It, Link It, Share It!

Princess in the Kitchen

"Never eat more than you can lift" - Miss Piggy

