BeeBee's 365 Challenge

for the little things that make me happy

Day 16: Common sense

on January 16, 2012

I was trundling though the pages of Twitter early this morning and I happened across this story:

http://news.sky.com/home/uk-news/article/16149780

In a nutshell, the lovely people of Which? Have been looking at Nutritionists across the country and have discovered that many aren’t traditionally trained.

The ones in this report are in fact part of the ‘alternative’ holistic varieties, using practises including kinesiology (a practise of testing muscle strength when a vile of the possible allergen is place nearby).

Many years ago my Mother sent me to such a person. I discovered possible allergens such as cows milk, wild rice, mushrooms, soya, wheat and lots over other random things. I stuck to this ‘diet’ for 2 years. I didn’t lose any weight but my hayfever and asthma improved. I also have discovered that when I’m run down uncooked milk makes me cough, ‘posh’ mushrooms give me severe stomach ache and processed white bread (which often contains soya flour) also has the ability to make me feel vile.

I don’t know how much of what the therapist did was for real or just guess work. I know I got bored. Food was very beige or slimy.

I also remember my Mum once visiting a different one and coming home with a book of the Atkins plan.

I’d rather my food was technicolour. I prefer my food to be as natural as possible and be able to eat it in plentiful amounts, I’m not a great processed food person apart from when chicken nuggets and potato waffles shout really loudly. Although I do have a takeaway once a week. Deprivation isn’t anyone’s friend. A little bit of everything is balance.

If you do think you have an intolerance or food allergy contact your GP who can then direct you to a fully qualified nutritionist for further help.

Today’s activity: finishing cleaning my kitchen, my giant bacon cheeseburger and watching the final episode of Sherlock.

BeeBee x

Leave a Reply

Fast day feasts

What to eat on the 5:2 fast diet

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

robharvey76

Pierce the mundane

International Book Giving Day 2017

Give a book on Valentine's Day

Oh!Bento

Bento pictures, tutorials, reviews and where to buy in the UK!

Life in the fat lane

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Thinsanity

GREASY fries or SKINNY thighs....you choose?

Wendyjr's Life

Just another WordPress.com site

kwjd

A fine WordPress.com site

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Baking as Therapy

Recipes, musings and ideas- plus ' how to' tutorials

Overtime Cook

Just another WordPress.com site

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

Doodlemum

a day in the life of my sketchbook...

Motherhood, WTF?

I'm the mom who makes you feel better about your parenting.

PinAddicts Challenge

Pin It, Make It, Blog It, Link It, Share It!

Princess in the Kitchen

"Never eat more than you can lift" - Miss Piggy

